A weekend of macro

The weather was beautiful this past weekend, perfect for taking photos – unfortunately I had a lot planned which didn’t leave much time for snapping, but I did my best! This first shot of a ladybird was taken as I was taking my son for a walk – he was feeling lazy and letting me push him round in his buggy, which allowed my eyes to wander around looking for the possibility of a photo, and that’s when I saw this guy/gal sitting ion a leaf:

Ladybird

The only problem with this photo, in my humble opinion, is that it’s more orange than I think the ladybird actually was but the sun was shining so brightly that some of the red was lost. No doubt I could make it more red in Photoshop, but time hasn’t been on my side. This next example was taken in the shade outside of Hitchin library and is much more like the natural red of a ladybird:

Ladybird #2

Great detail in both photos, as my Panasonic TZ7 continues to impress. The next two were taken in the back garden and are macro-tastic, look at the detail on that thorn!

Thorn

Spider - those eyes!

On the Sunday we visited some friends, in fact he writes a rather fabulous food blog: grubblog. After the rain had gone and the sun came out it was perfect weather for taking photos. I became almost obsessed with taking photos of a bug I found in one of the trees in the back garden. while there are lots more shots on my Flickr photostream, here are a few shots – amazing detail and what a prehistoric looking specimen! My wife christened them leaf eaters, if anyone knows their real name then please leave a comment and educate me.

Tree Bug

Tree Bug

Tree Bug, not in a tree!

Tree Bug side on

Leave a comment

Filed under Bugs, Ladybirds, Macro, Plants, Spiders

Leave a comment