Panasonic DMC-TZ7 no more – enter the Sony A200 and the world of DSLR cameras!

Fickle, me – whatever makes you think that?

First there was this post where I was trying to decide which compact super zoom digital camera to buy. Then there was this post where I announced that I had decided upon, and bought, the Panasonic DMC-TZ7. However, before the memory card has even arrived I had done enough reading around to realise that I actually wanted to learn about photography and be a better photograph, and to so that I was going to have to invest in a digital single-lens reflex (DSLR) camera.

The TZ7 got sold on AVForums and on the same forum I got some wonderful advice in the Digital Photography General Chat section on the best entry level DSLR camera for my budget and needs. The camera I decided to look for is the Sony Alpha DSLR-A200. Only problem I faced was buying one, as it has since been superseded by the A230 which a lot of people think is actually inferior. After seeing a few online, every store I rung then informed me they actually had no stock. In the end I managed to find an almost new one on the AVForums classifieds section which comes bundled with a few extras like a 4GB compact flash card, UV filter and £60 Sony camera bag. The deal is still happening so I’ll report back when I get the camera.

Sony Alpha A200

Sony Alpha A200

I’ve been reading up on aperture, ISO settings and shutter speeds – an interesting and daunting world, but one I will have to , and want to become familiar with to enable me improve as a photographer. Composition is also something I need to understand and maximise.

Earlier today we took a walk to town and I took out my trusty Panasonic DMC-TZ1, with its dirty lens, and took a few macro shots of flowers. Unfortunately I lost the cable which allows me to download the photos so I am going to buy a multi-card reader this afternoon – expect another blog later if any of the photos are worthy of being shown off.

1 Comment

Filed under Cameras, Photography

One response to “Panasonic DMC-TZ7 no more – enter the Sony A200 and the world of DSLR cameras!

  1. Nice introduce!I just have new choice to buy Digital camera equipment.I have new baby and I would like very fastshutter digit cam to consider her photo.

Leave a Reply

