I chose the Panasonic DMC-TZ7 – here are the first few photos

After much deliberating, as detailed in this post, I took the plunge and went for the Panasonic DMC-TZ7 Digital Camera. I couldn’t give up my super zoom and in fact have improved upon my 10x zoom to a 12x zoom. Amazon cut the price in line with lesser known websites so the temptation was too much for me to resist!

I went out today at lunchtime, before the rain came down, and took a few photos. My memory card hasn’t arrived yet so I was limited to 7, and add in the wind factor and it wasn’t easy, given my chosen subjects were insects and arachnids. There is a river not too far from work so I was just a short walk from some 6 and 8-legged action! When I have more time I may even venture as far as the river itself for some scenery shots. Beware – creepy crawlies below!

Fly

Fly

The lighting and focus on the fly aren’t the best but it was the first photo I took and kept with the new camera, so for posterity sake it stays.

Butterfly

Butterfly

Maybe not the most colourful example of a butterfly but it landed right near to where I was stood. The white, and possibly more photographic, butterflies were doing no such thing!

Bee

Bee

There were lots of bees buzzing around, it wasn’t until I tried to get cloe to one that I realised just how many there were – the whole bush was crawling!

Spider

Spider

I’m not a fan of spiders being near me, but I do find them fascinating at the same time. I had to get pretty close to get this shot and he did move while I was lining up the shot!

A second, bigger spider!

A second, bigger spider!

This guy never moved for the 10 or so attempts I made to get a decent shot. Not sure if the photo does him justice but he was about the size of a 50p piece!

So, there are my first few shots and if it’s taught me one thing it’s that I need a tripod, quickly!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cameras, Photography

Leave a Reply

