Film Review: WALL-E

I know this came out a year ago, and as a self confessed Disney geek I really should have watched WALL-E by now, but the arrival of our son threw our world off kilter, in a good way. My wife got the Blu-ray for her birthday last month and tonight we sat down to watch it, at last.

WALL-E

WALL-E

The Film
It took only a few short moments until I connected with WALL-E, as his solitary plight to clean up Earth tugged on my heart strings. His only friend at that time was a cockroach, who lived up to the myth that they can survive anything a few times during the film. The emotion portrayed by WALL-E was quite spectacular for a computer generated robot, though if anyone was going to get that right it would be Disney Pixar.

The arrival of EVE saw WALL-E go into courting mode which was as equally charming as it was funny, especially WALL-E’s attempts to hold EVE’s hand, something that would become the main crux of the film.

Once in space on one of the escape ships and we actually encountered some humans. Almost strange that the humans in WALL-E’s favourite film and in archived footage were actual real humans, but the humans on the ship were computer generated. The characterisation of all the different robots was once again superb and I’m sure I’m not the only one who had an I Robot moment when the auto-pilot turned on the Captain.

Great seeing the Captain walk for what I assume was the first time, baby steps en route to his victory over the auto-pilot! Once back on Earth it was heart-breaking when it appeared WALL-E’s consciousness was gone, despite EVE’s best efforts to mend him. Fantastic moment when the hand holding came full circle and led to the return of WALL-E.

My only complaint is that once Wall-E and EVE were together, the film ended a little bit abruptly. While we saw what happened next, briefly, in the credits – I’d have liked to seen a bit more of this as part of the actual film, even just 5 minutes would have done.

Blu-ray Quality
This will be a short section, the picture was just absolutely stunning and is the best example of high definition I have seen to date. In particular the part where WALL-E and EVE are flying around in space, WALL-E aided by a fire extinguisher, was breath-taking. The sound was perfect when it needed to be but by the nature of the film was more subtle throughout, rather than a room shaking experience like that of Bolt.

Verdict
I think it was very brave of Disney Pixar to put out a film with such little dialogue but it worked. I’m not sure if it works as well for kids as previous Disney Pixar films but I really enjoyed it and even want to watch the making of features which is very rare for me! Back in July I rated the Disney Pixar films and right now I’ll sleep on it before seeing where WALL-E slots in, but I’m thinking around the Cars / Finding Nemo level at the moment. WALL-E was well worth the wait and comes with a huge recommendation – go watch it of you haven’t already.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blu-ray & DVDs, Disney, Films, Pixar

Leave a Reply

