World’s Strongest Man 2008

For as long as I can remember, watching World’s Strongest Man has been a Christmas/New Year viewing tradition. Back in the 80s it was all about Geoff Capes, Bill Kazmaier and the mighty Jón Páll Sigmarsson (God rest his soul).

The 90s saw the rise of Magnús Ver Magnússon and the 2000s saw the meteoric rise of The Dominator, Marius Pudzianowski – the powerhouse from Poland who has won 4 of the last 5 competitions.

I am half Polish by my Grandparents on my Mum’s side so I can follow Marius that way. My British nationality has me wanting to support the British guys, especially big Terry Hollands who came an impressive 3rd last year.

Whatever the results, it’s bound to be an impressive display of power from the mightiest men on earth – qualifiers start tonight!

2 Comments

Filed under Television, World's Strongest Man

2 responses to “World’s Strongest Man 2008

  1. winston33

    too much stamina involved in these events . to atract the public they need to run heave and jump. much more than brute strength is needed

    • I can’t imagibe some of these guys jumping – do you really think they need to be that much more athletic? If they increased their stamina and athletic ability then they’d lose some of their strength and it’s that that makes me them stand out.

Leave a Reply

